Strong Earthquake Hits Kota Ternate, Indonesia Today (November 15, 2014)

A strong 7.1 magnitude earthquake hits Kota Ternate, Indonesia November 15, 2014, Saturday, the U.S. Geological Survey reported. No Pacific-wide destructive tsunami is expected.

The Pacific Tsunami Warning Center said it will update its warning within the hour.

See the details of the tremor below.

Event Time

2014-11-15 02:31:40 UTC
2014-11-15 10:31:40 UTC+08:00 at epicenter
2014-11-14 19:31:40 UTC-07:00 system time

Location

1.928°N 126.547°E depth=35.0km (21.7mi)

Nearby Cities

156km (97mi) NW of Kota Ternate, Indonesia
156km (97mi) NW of Ternate, Indonesia
160km (99mi) ENE of Bitung, Indonesia
164km (102mi) W of Tobelo, Indonesia
1064km (661mi) SW of Koror Town, Palau

Shake Map
shake-map-earthquake