Nicaragua Earthquake April 10, 2014 Measures 6.1

 

A 6.1-magnitude earthquake hit the Central American country of Nicaragua on Thursday, destroying dozens of houses and knocking out power to some areas.

The U.S. Geological Survey said the quake struck at 5:27 p.m. local time (23:27 GMT), and was centered about 11 miles (18 kilometers) southeast of the city of Larreynaga. It had a depth of 6.2 miles (10 kilometers).

See more of the Nicaragua earthquake details below.

Event Time

2014-04-10 23:27:46 UTC
2014-04-10 17:27:46 UTC-06:00 at epicenter
2014-04-10 18:27:46 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

12.514°N 86.379°W depth=13.0km (8.1mi)

Nearby Cities

10km (6mi) W of Valle San Francisco, Nicaragua
34km (21mi) NE of Nagarote, Nicaragua
36km (22mi) SW of Ciudad Dario, Nicaragua
37km (23mi) ENE of La Paz Centro, Nicaragua
44km (27mi) NNW of Managua, Nicaragua

Shake Map
intensity

Be Sociable, Share!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *