Yellowstone National Park Earthquake Today, March 30, 2014

 

Yellowstone EarthquakeOn Sunday, March 30, 2014, the Yellowstone National Park has been rocked by the strongest earthquake in 29 years. The magnitude-4.8 earthquake struck inside the park boundaries at 6:34 a.m. MDT Sunday. The epicenter was near the middle of the par, near the Norris Geyser Basin, according to Peter Cervelli of the U.S. Geological Survey.

The earthquake was the largest since the 4.8 tremor in 1985.

Event Time

2014-03-30 12:34:39 UTC
2014-03-30 06:34:39 UTC-06:00 at epicenter
2014-03-30 07:34:39 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

44.778°N 110.683°W depth=6.8km (4.2mi)

Nearby Cities

37km (23mi) ENE of West Yellowstone, Montana
105km (65mi) SSE of Bozeman, Montana
138km (86mi) NE of Rexburg, Idaho
178km (111mi) NE of Ammon, Idaho
228km (142mi) SSE of Helena, Montana

***
PRESS RELEASE
University of Utah Seismograph Stations
Released: March 30, 2014 08:15 AM MDT

The University of Utah Seismograph Stations reports that a light earthquake occurred at 06:34 AM on March 30, 2014 (MDT). The epicenter of the magnitude 4.8 shock was located 4 miles north-northeast of Norris Geyser Basin in Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming. This earthquake is part of a series of earthquakes that began in this area on Thursday, March 27. As of 8:15 am today, this series has included at least 25 earthquakes in addition to the main shock, with the largest of magnitude 3.1. The magnitude 4.8 main shock was reported felt in Yellowstone National Park and in the towns of West
Yellowstone and Gardiner, Montana.

Anyone who felt the earthquake is encouraged to fill out a survey form on either the Seismograph stations web site: www.quake.utah.edu or the U.S. Geological Survey web site: earthquake.usgs.gov.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *