Chile Earthquake Today At Magnitude 6.8

A 6.8 magnitude earthquake shook the north-central part of Chile on Wednesday.

The U.S. Geological Survey originally reported the quake at 6.7, but later revised it upward. It struck at 4:15 p.m. (3:15 p.m.; 2015 GMT) and was centered 27 miles (44 kilometers) north of Vallenar, Chile.

No earthquake-related fatality has been reported, although a woman died of heart attack due to fear during the quake.

USGS Earthquake summary
Event Time:

2013-01-30 20:15:43 UTC
2013-01-30 17:15:43 UTC-03:00 at epicenter
2013-01-30 14:15:43 UTC-06:00 system time

Location: 28.181°S 70.800°W depth=45.7km (28.4mi)

Nearby Cities:

43km (27mi) N of Vallenar, Chile
101km (63mi) SSW of Copiapo, Chile
196km (122mi) NNE of La Serena, Chile
203km (126mi) NNE of Coquimbo, Chile
585km (364mi) N of Santiago, Chile

Shake Map:
intensity